I cried during this reading and later had to reflect on why. Unable to add item to List. If you're a seller, Fulfillment by Amazon can help you grow your business. I would love to know what Rahul is up to during his high school years. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. Updates on his novel THE BEST AT IT and book tour dates. Such a beautiful, sensitive, sweet, moving book. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it. There aren't a huge amout of books about us so this felt extra special to me. Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Please read before letting your child read. I believe every school library should offer this to kids. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Learn more about the program. Why This Book is About YOU (Even If It Isn't), Reviewed in the United States on November 5, 2019, I met the author briefly at a book festival where I heard him speak on a panel of four. Un inglés asequible y la historia está bien. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series. But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything? Our seventh grader recently started to really enjoy reading, as long as I am reading with him, so I absolutely adore middle grade books, Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2020. Reviewed in the United States on October 30, 2019. There was an error retrieving your Wish Lists. I am also an Indian-American like Rahul and there were many parts in this book where I wanted to jump up and down screaming about how much I could relate to his experiences. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. Maulik lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his husband, Ryan, and his dog, T-Rex. Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth. Reviewed in the United States on October 8, 2019, Do your kids like to read? Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 Rock, Whitney), animated favorites (Phineas and Ferb, Sanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage, and films. We work hard to protect your security and privacy. There's a problem loading this menu right now. There also issues in the book that I could relate to as an adult, like members of your own family (or a family friend) not making you feel accepted. We have two boys, one is at the age in his life where it isn’t “cool” to read (we haven’t given up hope yet). Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. ★ “The protagonist’s devastatingly honest voice pulls readers deeply into a fast-paced journey...  heartbreakingly authentic.” (. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading. Please try again. I absolutely loved this book! It's the kind of book that can remove layers of inner fear and anxiety for young people who are struggling through their transition into adulthood. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition. This book is aimed toward young adults, but I found the book lovely and well-worth reading and I'm in my 50's! To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Maulik did a wonderful job in his debut novel, I hope he is planning on writing a sequel. To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number. Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 Rock, Whitney), animated favorites (Phineas and Ferb, Sanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage, and films.He served on President Barack Obama’s Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and he is the cofounder of the anti-bullying campaign Act to Change. Please try again. Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. ", Reviewed in the United States on November 6, 2019. Please try your request again later. This shopping feature will continue to load items when the Enter key is pressed. Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. I love this book so so much. Recomendable y útil para aprender inglés. Reviewed in the United States on October 21, 2020. I was saddened that nothing like this existed during my childhood. There are themes of joy and hope, family, accountability, and friendship. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Please try again. Official website for actor, author and activist Maulik Pancholy. This book is as equally as good for adults to read as it is for children (3rd grade and up). Find all the books, read about the author, and more. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 4, 2020. Something went wrong. As I read this book, I reflected back at my own childhood experiences and wish I had a book like this to read when I was in middle school. At the end of a full day of hearing from many capable authors about their work, I left with the intention of buying just one book: "The Best At It. The Best at It is his debut novel. Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 Rock, Whitney), animated favorites (Phineas and Ferb, Sanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage, and films. Enrich your mind and heart by reading this book! I was so good that I bought 5 more books to gift to my nieces and nephews. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, + $12.02 Shipping & Import Fees Deposit to France. There was a problem loading your book clubs. Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) is a service we offer sellers that lets them store their products in Amazon's fulfillment centers, and we directly pack, ship, and provide customer service for these products. And I was saddened that I didn't have this book to offer children during my 20+ years of teaching. He served on President Barack Obama’s Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and he is the cofounder of the anti-bullying campaign Act to Change. Something we hope you'll especially enjoy: FBA items qualify for FREE Shipping and Amazon Prime. This book was misrepresented as to its content. Visibility is given to the NORMALCY we Americans of non-European cultures live. This book addresses several topics including diversity and inclusion, bullying, trying to fit in, and growing up as a first generation American. A Stonewall Honor Book!